LibGuides: Current Events Class: O'Brien: Home

History Databases

General OneFile (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive general-interest periodical and news information. In addition, General OneFile also features more than 500 travel guides; a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present, including searchable transcripts; links to over 5,000 video files including shows like the Today Show, NBC Nightly News, NRO TV and Meet the Press; more than 3,000 full-text titles recommended by Bowker’s “Magazines for Libraries”.

Academic One File (Gale)
Provides access to 8,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text, available in HTML and PDF formats. Also available are hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as the full-text of the New York Times content since 1995.
Academic OneFile Select (Gale)
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. The database meets research needs in subject areas including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
Gale in Context: Biography
Provides more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography In Context includes over 4,500 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. It offers authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers.
Gale OneFile: Popular Magazines
Provides access to the most searched general magazines.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Biography is built on a foundation of more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography In Context includes over 4,500 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. It offers authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Provides access to content that coverers a range of social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions. Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.

Gale in Context: Global Issues
Provides authoritative content is provided from over 800 geographically diverse
newspapers, magazines, and journals, including 334 newspapers that are
published in countries other than the United States. over 450 topic and issue pages and 250 country topic pages.

Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism This link opens in a new window
Provide coverage of conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.
Issues Researcher Pro/Con Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 2,000 international sources. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between of 345+ social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues.

Gale OneFile: News
Provides full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.
Boston Globe 1980 - present (ProQuest)
Provides coverage of local and regional news from 1980 to the present

New York Times 1985 - present (Gale) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to NYT articles from 1985 to the present. Does not include PDF image files.

A to Z World Culture
A to Z World Culture is the most comprehensive country-by-country culture resource database available on the educational market today. A to Z World Culture comprises 175 Country Culture Guides of 61 data categories each—in-depth coverage on a rich array of cultural topics.
Gale in Context: World History
Provides access centuries worth of rare primary sources, reliable reference
and multimedia content.

Gale in Context: Global Issues This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative content is provided from over 800 geographically diverse
newspapers, magazines, and journals, including 334 newspapers that are
published in countries other than the United States. over 450 topic and issue pages and 250 country topic pages.

Gale in Context: Biography This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context: Biography is built on a foundation of more than 650,000 biographical entries covering international figures from all time periods and areas of study. Providing coverage of the most searched and studied people, Biography In Context includes over 4,500 portal pages on contemporary and historical figures. It offers authoritative reference content alongside, videos, audio selections, images, primary sources, and magazine and journal articles from hundreds of major periodicals and newspapers.
Gale in Context: United States History This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from periodicals and newspapers; hundreds
of thousands of topic and event overviews; biographies; and rich
multimedia, including images, videos, audio, and weblinks.

Criminal Justice Collection
Contains over 250 journals related to law, law enforcement, or terrorism, homeland security, forensic science, investigating crime scenes, developing policy, going to court, writing sociological reports

Gale OneFile: Military & Intelligence This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and present military affairs. Updated annually, this library resource contains hand-selected content supporting key subject areas such as, governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism This link opens in a new window
Provide coverage of conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.

Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies This link opens in a new window
Explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
Gale OneFile: Gender Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides balanced coverage topics including gender identity, women's studies, and queer studies. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

A to Z World Culture
A to Z World Culture is the most comprehensive country-by-country culture resource database available on the educational market today. A to Z World Culture comprises 175 Country Culture Guides of 61 data categories each—in-depth coverage on a rich array of cultural topics.

Gale OneFile: Communications & Mass Media This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information found in more than 400 journals. Nearly 3 million articles on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature, meet the needs of researchers.
Gale OneFile: Popular Cutlure This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture. The database offers useful information for researchers in social science, history, art or liberal arts courses.

Gale OneFile: Religion & Philosophy This link opens in a new window
Access to articles that cover topics across a wide range of philosophies and religions.

Project Information Literacy - News Study

Citation Tools

NoodleTools
Create citations and generate note-cards for class projects in NoddleTools. Note: A username and password is needed. See Mrs. Tuleja for assistance in creating a NoodleTools account.
Purdue OWL Online Writing Lab MLA Citation Guide
Provides an overview of MLA citation format and example citations for a variety of information source types.

Media Bias

All Sides

All Sides - Unbiased News Doesn't Exist
Balanced news via media bias ratings to establish multiple perspectives

Digital Citizenship

Filter Bubbles - TEDTalk Conference: TEDWomen2017
Joan Blades and John Gable explain how to bridge the gaps in understanding between people on opposite sides of the political spectrum -- and create opportunities for mutual listening and consideration (Time: 9 minutes, 19 seconds))

Digital Literacy Course - First Draft
The course is designed as an introduction that anyone can use to quickly improve their digital literacy skills. NOTE: Need to register for a username and password to access the course for FREE.

Helpful website sources

How Deep Fakes will Influence Your Vote in the 2020 Elections
Provides an overview of AI technology that altered video and audio of clips on FaceBook, YouTube and other social media outlets.
Twitter - Digital Trends
Procides clips that show side by side video of altered televsion personailities.
Navigating Misinformation: How to identify and verify what you see on the web, Instructor Claire Wardle
Leader is inentifying Fake News, Calire Wardle is the instrucotr for a course on Identify Mis- and Dis-information on the web

Current Events Class: O'Brien: Home

Dr. Martin Lutherr King Jr.