LibGuides: Public Speaking Informative/Persuasive Speech: Database Resources

Research Resources

Databases: Using databases for research allows you to gather articles, book chapters, images, primary sources, transcripts and videos all one place. Databases offer the added benefit of being trusted sources that you do not need to verify before citing them - they have already been vetted for quality - authorship, currency, relevance and suitable for academic work.

Websites: Using websites for research can be a great resource. Be sure to use vetting criteria to make sure your source is considered reliable and appropriate for academic work. Who is the author of the site? What expertise does the author have? Is it an .org or .edu or .gov site? When was it last updated?

Curtin University Paraphrasing and Summarizing
This is the site to do for Mrs. Robinson.
Website to practice paraphrasing and summarizing
Utah State Plagiarism and Siummarizing Tutorials
Practice paraphrase and summarizing

General Databases

General One File
Provides comprehensive general-interest periodical and news information. In addition, General OneFile also features more than 500 travel guides; a full collection of National Public Radio programs from 1990 to the present, including searchable transcripts; links to over 5,000 video files including shows like the Today Show, NBC Nightly News, NRO TV and Meet the Press; more than 3,000 full-text titles recommended by Bowker’s “Magazines for Libraries”.
Expanded Academic ASAP
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. The database meets research needs in subject areas including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.
ProQuest SIRS Issue Researcher
Provides more than 2,000 international sources. Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between of 345+ social, scientific, health, historic, economic, political, and global issues.
Popular Magazines
Provides access to the most searched general magazines.
Academic One File
Provides access to 8,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text, available in HTML and PDF formats. Also available are hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as the full-text of the New York Times content since 1995.

Newspaper Databases

New York Times (1985-)
Provides access to NYT articles from 1985 to the present. Does not include PDF image files.
Newsstand
Provides full-text newspaper resource allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, author, newspaper section, or other fields. InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, as well as leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

Science and Health Databases

Gale OneFile: Health & Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical and professional periodicals, health and fitness magazines, and reference books and pamphlets. The database is designed for both nursing and allied health students as well as consumer health researchers.
Gale OneFile: Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
Provides access to medical, statistical, health, and related information.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies & Policy This link opens in a new window
Provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies. The database includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.
Gale OneFile: Physical Therapy & Sports Medicine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. The database offers a wide spectrum of information, including proven treatment techniques, and experimental research.
Gale in Context: Science This link opens in a new window
This database provides coverage of science topics and includes access to academic articles in reference books, newspapers, news, magazines, and websites. Includes images, audio and visual resources as well.
Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Science Database is a growing resource of 7.3 million full-text articles from over 1,600 sources including access to full-text articles from publishers such as Nature Publishing Group, Springer, Cambridge University. Researchers also have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and engineering literature.