Provides access to 8,000 academic journals, the majority in full-text, available in HTML and PDF formats. Also available are hundreds of podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and the CBC, as well as the full-text of the New York Times content since 1995.
New / Trial Databases
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Provides access to content that coverers a range of social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more. Opposing Viewpoints is cross-searchable with Gale In Context: Global Issues for users with access to both resources.
An essential collection of genealogical & historical sources, U.S. Federal Censuses, books, bank records, and unique primary sources and local & family histories. also includes city directories, maps, photos, probate records, and military records,
More than 80 short videos are organized into nine Learning Modules that answer questions like "How do I choose a topic?" "Where do I find information?" and "How do I evaluate sources?" Different kinds of "pre" and "post" assessment questions make the viewing experience more interactive while allowing educators to measure students’ learning and identify gaps in their understanding.
ProQuest Science Database is a growing resource of 7.3 million full-text articles from over 1,600 sources including access to full-text articles from publishers such as Nature Publishing Group, Springer, Cambridge University. Researchers also have access to all the charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphical elements so vital to scientific and engineering literature.